Andy Smithson Adventure Series by L.R.W. Lee – Book Review

I received electronic versions of these books in exchange for my fair and honest reviews. This post may contain affiliate links.


Blast of the Dragon’s Fury by L.R.W. Lee
Andy Smithson #1

From the After Life, ten-year-old Andy Smithson’s relatives initiated a curse 500 years ago. Now they no longer agree it should continue and one is willing to sacrifice Andy’s life to end it. Unaware of the disagreement and with no say in the matter, Andy is unexpectedly and magically transported from his home. He finds himself in the Land of Oomaldee, facing mortal danger at every turn as he seeks to find a scale from a rare red dragon, the most ferocious of dragon species, to break the curse and save his life.


Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning by L.R.W. Lee
Andy Smithson #2

Eleven-year-old Andy Smithson returns to Oomaldee to retrieve the second ingredient needed to break a 500-year-old curse enacted to punish the current ruler for murdering his older sister when she was 15. Not one to forgive easily, Imogenia’s spirit is bent on thwarting Andy to preserve the curse and naively aligns herself with the evil, scheming Abbadon. Things go from bad to worse when a creature Abaddon conjures from the darkest magic steals the Stone of Athanasia, the source of the ruler’s immortality, causing the king and his wizard Mermin to fall gravely ill. Andy is forced to choose between retrieving the stone and saving those he loves or obediently going after the second ingredient. What will he chose? Will he be able to save the King and Mermin?

Smashwords – Book 1 | Smashwords – Book 2

My Thoughts

I was contacted by the author and given electronic versions of the first two books in the Andy Smithson Adventure Series for my review consideration. After reading the blurbs, I was excited to jump in.

Right from the beginning of the first book, I was hooked. I loved the inventiveness of the After Life. Imogenia has the opportunity to beta test an idea to seek revenge against her brother for killing her. I didn’t want to put the story down! There is magic, adventure, and middle-grade fantasy that can be enjoyed by people of all ages. This was a series that I felt really goes in a unique direction. The characters were fun and I felt like the story kept me guessing.

The books are geared toward middle-grade readers, I’d say around ages 8-12. I have an 11 year old tween daughter, so I know what she needs to have in a book to hold her interest. She hasn’t yet read these, but I know she will enjoy them. Andy is a boy her age, who, unbeknownst to him, is part of a much larger plan to break a curse. He is a really likable character. Andy gets to live out some of his favorite video games…what kid wouldn’t love that?!

Both books were really fun to read. I enjoyed reading them and I look forward to hearing what my daughter thinks when she reads them. The Andy Smithson Adventure Series by L.R.W. Lee is imaginative and worth checking out.

Click here to learn more about the author, L.R.W. Lee.


0 comments / Add your comment below

  1. Brooke, thanks so much for reviewing the first two books in the Andy Smithson series. I’m thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed them and that you know your 11-yr-old daughter (target age group is 8-12) will too! Book 3, Andy Smithson: Disgrace of the Unicorn’s Honor will be out Fall 2014 so I’ll have to make sure you and your daughter review that as well 🙂 many thanks!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.