Posts Categorized: Book Review

Oct 31 2021
0

Moments with Jesus Children’s Encounter Bible – Review #momentswithjesus #childrensbible

Moments with Jesus Children’s Encounter Bible – Review #momentswithjesus #childrensbible


The Moments with Jesus Encounter Bible combines masterful storytelling with captivating artwork to create an imaginative, biblical encounter like no other. Presented in a simple, beautiful format, the Moments with Jesus Encounter Bible will help you shepherd your kids into a thriving, dynamic relationship with Jesus.

What makes the Moments with Jesus Encounter Bible different from other children’s Bibles?

While other children’s Bibles contain informative stories from the Old and New Testaments, the Moments with Jesus Encounter Bible puts kids in the middle of the action of twenty essential stories from the four Gospels. Through dynamic, first-hand storytelling, kids come face to face with the Living Word Himself, getting a clear picture of who Jesus is, what He is like, …

 935 total views

Oct 24 2021
0

The Last Line by Robert Dugoni – Review, Author Q&A + Giveaway

The Last Line by Robert Dugoni – Review, Author Q&A + Giveaway

My Thoughts

The Last Line by Robert Dugoni is a short suspense/thriller story featuring Detective Del Castigliano working his first case as a homicide detective in Seattle, WA. I have read an earlier short story as well as the first book in the Tracy Crosswhite series, but it has been about 7 years since I read them. Still, you can absolutely read this as a standalone short story/prequel. This story takes place before Tracy arrives at the Seattle PD. It will definitely whet your appetite for the series!

The Last Line hooks you right from the beginning – the mystery of two bodies that appeared to be drowning victims coupled with Del attempting to build a new life in Seattle and …

 2,451 total views,  2 views today

Oct 20 2021
0

Bedtime with Mommy by Nancy I. Sanders – Review + Giveaway

Bedtime with Mommy by Nancy I. Sanders – Review + Giveaway

Bedtime with Mommy by Nancy I. Sanders
Illustrated by Felia Hanakata
Juvenile Fiction • Religion
End Game Press • August 24, 2021
6×6 Foam Cover Board Book

All around the world, it’s bedtime, and Mommies are tucking little ones into bed. From the elephants on the grasslands to the camels in the desert to the Polar bears in the Arctic, it’s time for snuggles, prayers, and bedtime kisses. This adorable board book features a Mommy and baby animal in eight different habitats getting ready for bed. The final spread features Mommy tucking a child into bed.

Purchase Link


Our thoughts:

Bedtime with Mommy is a delightful board book perfect for snuggling up with your little one under the covers. This sturdy book …

 1,563 total views

Oct 06 2021
0

The Silent Witness by Carolyn Arnold

The Silent Witness by Carolyn Arnold

The Silent Witness is the third book in the Detective Amanda Steele series. It pulls you in right away and has you having to turn the pages until you find out what happens next. Ms. Arnold has a gift for writing taut, suspenseful police procedurals that keep you guessing. This series is a must-read if you like shows like CSI or Criminal Minds.

I love how Amanda tries to stay emotionally detached from her cases but because of her personality and what she’s been through, she can’t help but feel a connection. That raw emotion often helps her find just what she is looking for. The drama and the mystery had my adrenaline pumping. As much as I wanted to …

 989 total views,  2 views today

Oct 05 2021
0

The Plot is Murder by V.M. Burns – Review

The Plot is Murder by V.M. Burns – Review

My Thoughts

When I requested this book from the library, I wasn’t even sure what it was about. I just knew it was the book chosen for the Cozy Escape Book Club. I started reading it and it was such an unexpected type of cozy. I absolutely loved the writing style. I really loved the inclusion of Sam’s historical mystery. I found myself just as invested in figuring out that mystery as the mystery that was actually taking place. In fact, I would love Sam’s stories to be published as a series on their own – they were that enjoyable in the little snippets throughout the book.

Sam, Nana Jo, and the girls were wonderful characters. It felt like the Golden Girls …

 1,205 total views,  2 views today

Sep 08 2021
1

An Untidy Affair by MB Dabney – Review & Giveaway

An Untidy Affair by MB Dabney – Review & Giveaway

My Thoughts

An Untidy Affair is a gritty, hard-boiled private eye novel that delivered. The story is set in the mid-1980s in Philadelphia. David Blaise is a PI with his own business and a former prostitute, Mae, as his secretary. Blaise finds himself wrapped up in more than he bargained for when two seemingly unrelated cases start having some common connections. And someone doesn’t want him connecting the dots…

The author has a wonderful writing style that kept me engaged and really brought the setting to life. The characters felt real as well. The suspense, humor, and relationships worked well to balance out the story.

If you’re looking for a suspenseful mystery that keeps you guessing, pick up An Untidy Affair. …

 1,405 total views,  2 views today

Jul 24 2021
3

Murder at the Lakeside Library by Holly Danvers

Murder at the Lakeside Library by Holly Danvers

Murder at the Lakeside Library by Holly Danvers
A Lakeside Library Mystery Book 1
Crooked Lane Books • July 13, 2021

In this series debut perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Miranda James, Rain Wilmot must discover the killer, before the book closes on her life.

Rain Wilmot has just returned to her family’s waterfront log cabin in Lofty Pines, Wisconsin after the untimely death of her husband. The cabin is peaceful compared to Rain’s corporate job and comes with an informal library that Rain’s mother, Willow, used to run. But as Rain prepares for the re-opening of the library, all hopes for a peaceful life are shattered when she discovers the body of Thornton Hughes, a real estate buyer, on the …

 1,333 total views

Apr 19 2021
0

Stolen Daughters by Carolyn Arnold

Stolen Daughters by Carolyn Arnold

My Thoughts

Stolen Daughters by Carolyn Arnold is the second book in the Detective Amanda Steele mystery series. I loved the first book and was definitely looking forward to reading this one. Ms. Arnold did not disappoint! This book was full of action and suspense. Stolen Daughters feels like an episode of Criminal Minds. Once I started reading, I didn’t want to put it down. If you love crime shows and suspenseful stories that keep you guessing until the end, you need to read Stolen Daughters.

I’ve read and enjoyed many books by Ms. Arnold – she has a knack for writing books that draw the reader in right away and don’t let go until the conclusion. I’m happy to have …

 2,317 total views,  4 views today

Feb 06 2021
2

Pursuit of the Truth by K.D. Richards – Review & Giveaway

Pursuit of the Truth by K.D. Richards – Review & Giveaway

My Thoughts

Pursuit of the Truth by K.D. Richards is an action-packed romantic suspense novel with just the right balance of heat and suspense. Boutique hotel heiress Nadia Shelton finds herself the target of someone’s attacks…and she has no clue why she would be targeted. Her hotels utilize West Security for property security and Nadia has been eyeing up Ryan West since she took over the hotels. Ryan has been trying to suppress his feelings for Nadia as well and keep things professional. But as it becomes clear that she needs personal security and help to figure out who is coming after her and why…Ryan can’t trust anyone else to keep her safe. Their time together brings their attraction to …

 1,859 total views

Feb 03 2021
1

Under the Barnyard Light by Carla Crane Osborne #UnderTheBarnyardLight #ad

Under the Barnyard Light by Carla Crane Osborne #UnderTheBarnyardLight #ad

Under the Barnyard Light by Carla Crane Osborne
Illustrated by Brandon Dorman
Gogonago • November 17, 2020

Under the glow of the soft barnyard light…

Even in the dark of the winter, the animals need to be fed. Step into the magical world of a young girl on a farm full of small wonders. Beneath the barnyard light, feed warm milk to the calves, catch snowflakes on your tongue, and give a kiss to Dandy the horse.

Link to Purchase

Our Thoughts

Under the Barnyard Light by Carla Crane Osborne is a beautiful children’s story. The little girl in the story helps her father take care of the animals on the farm and has a special relationship with Dandy the horse. I really …

 2,037 total views,  4 views today