Cry Wolf by Lark O. Jensen – Character Guest Blog Post by Stacie Calder + Giveaway

Cry Wolf (An Alaska Untamed Mystery)
by Lark O. Jensen

About Cry Wolf


Cry Wolf (An Alaska Untamed Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
2nd in Series
Setting – Alaska
Crooked Lane Books (November 7, 2023)
Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 272 pages
ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1639104550
ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1639104550
Digital ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0BQLHWGDL

Perfect for fans of Paige Shelton, an Alaskan tour guide is bracing for winter when she realizes that the wolves aren’t the only predators on the prowl.

With boat tours off the coast of Alaska shut down for the winter, tour guide Stacie Calder is joining the dedicated team at the Juneau Wildlife World, a wild animal sanctuary. Along with Sasha, her husky companion, she’s prepared to spend the long season in the scenic park. But not everyone is so chipper about the newcomers—least of all, Stacie’s new manager, Oliver Brownling. He constantly gives Stacie a hard time, specifically because she brought Sasha along with her. That is, until his mauled body is found in a remote part of the sanctuary containing wolves.

When it becomes clear that a human was responsible for the brutal murder, all eyes are on Stacie. Encouraged by her friend, Officer Liam Amaruq of the Alaskan State Troopers, Stacie is resolved to find the murderer but knows that her investigation will be difficult with the long suspect list she’s made. Did the sanctuary director plot to get rid of Oliver? Or maybe it was one of Oliver’s coworkers, upset over a missed promotion? Stacie wonders about some of the newer employees, especially since Oliver’s personality made it easy to make enemies.

With the weather worsening, Stacie and Sasha are forced to stay at the sanctuary with the wolves—and her colleagues. As the storm gets worse, it’s clear that this killer has a taste for blood and may strike again. Will Stacie be able to find the murderer, or will the hunter become the hunted?


Wildlife and Me and Murders

Me, a detective? Even an amateur one?

That’s somehow becoming my life. Or at least part of it. And it’s never anything I anticipated. Or wanted.

My name is Stacie Calder. I’m a naturalist by love, education and profession—and, yes, nature. I moved to Alaska a couple of years ago because of the wonderful wildlife here that is mostly different and more rampant than in the lower forty-eight. I always want to see as many creatures as I can.

During the summers here, I go out on tour boats in the waters near Juneau, bringing my wonderful husky Sasha along, and point out wildlife to the sightseers. And darned if I didn’t also wind up solving the murder of one of the boat passengers. Not a very nice passenger, but still—

And that murder, which is described in the book BEAR WITNESS, turned out not to be the only murder around me! See, in the winter my tour company wisely doesn’t go out in the water, and since I now live in Alaska I started working that time of year at a local wildlife sanctuary, Juneau Wildlife World—a wonderful place where wolves and bears and more are under protection. The people who work there are also wonderful—most of them, at least, like the director Wayne Deerfield, and the woman in charge of food preparation, Marnie Korman and volunteers Bill and Shawna and more. But then there was one of the managers, Oliver Brownling. He was definitely unhappy that I had Sasha with me and was always giving me a hard time.

Was I happy about that? Hardly. But as much as I bickered with him, I never would have done anything to physically harm him.

And I definitely didn’t believe that the wolves under our protection killed him either, despite what appeared to be the cause of his fatal wounds: the mauling of his neck.

So, to protect myself and those wonderful wolves, I had to figure out who did it and why. On my own. The guy I’d been seeing, and cared about, Officer Liam Amaruq of a new wing of the Alaska State Troopers, had helped before, but it was too difficult, in the bad weather, for him to visit the sanctuary. And so I had to jump in and determine the truth, before anyone else was hurt. Or any more wildlife was blamed for something bad. That’s what my current story CRY WOLF is all about.

Character Guest Blog Post by Stacie Calder, protagonist of Cry Wolf, the second Alaska Untamed Mystery, and Bear Witness, the first, which supposedly were written by Linda O. Johnston under the pseudonym Lark O. Jensen


About Lark O. Jensen

Lark O. Jensen is the pseudonym of Linda O. Johnston, a former lawyer who is now a full-time writer. Lark wrote Bear Witness, the first Alaska Untamed mystery for Crooked Lane Books, in 2022, and the second in the series, Cry Wolf, has just been published. Linda has also written the Barkery & Biscuits Mystery series and the Superstition Mysteries for Midnight Ink and the Pet Rescue Mysteries and Kendra Ballantyne, Pet-Sitter mysteries for Berkley Prime Crime. Linda additionally writes for Harlequin Romantic Suspense, and her stories often involve dogs.

Author Links

Website: http://www.LindaOJohnston.com

Blog: https://killerhobbies.blogspot.com (Wednesday blog)

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LindaOJohnston

Writerspace: https://www.writerspace.com/author/linda-o-johnston/

Purchase Links – AmazonB&NKoboCrooked Lane Books

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

November 20 – Christy’s Cozy Corners – AUTHOR GUEST POST

November 20 – Guatemala Paula Loves to Read – REVIEW

November 21 – Novels Alive – REVIEW

November 21 – Literary Gold – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

November 21 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

November 22 – Sneaky the Library Cat’s Blog – CHARACTER INTERVIEW

November 22 – Island Confidential – SPOTLIGHT

November 22 – Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

November 23 – THANKSGIVING U.S.

November 24 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee – SPOTLIGHT

November 24 – MJB Reviewers – SPOTLIGHT

November 25 – Lady Hawkeye – SPOTLIGHT

November 25 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

November 26 – Cozy, Suspenseful, and Sweet – AUTHOR GUEST POST

November 26 – Brooke Blogs – CHARACTER GUEST POST

November 27 – Maureen’s Musings – SPOTLIGHT

November 27 – FUONLYKNEW – REVIEW

November 28 – My Reading Journeys – CHARACTER GUEST POST

November 28 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?
Click Here to Find Details and Sign Up Today!
Want to Book a Tour?
Click Here

Loading

2 comments / Add your comment below

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.