Eleven by Carolyn Arnold – Book Review

This post contains affiliate links. If you make a purchase using my links, I will receive a small commission from the sale at no cost to you. Thank you for supporting Brooke Blogs!

I received this book for free from Amazon. This review is voluntary. My opinion is not influenced in any way.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, language, and/or violence.
Eleven by Carolyn Arnold – Book ReviewEleven by Carolyn Arnold
Series: Brandon Fisher FBI Series #1
Published by Hibbert & Stiles Publishing Inc. on November 4, 2011
Genres: Mystery, Thriller
Pages: 348
Format: Kindle Book
Source: Amazon
Buy on Amazon

Eleven Rooms. Ten Bodies. One Empty Grave.

When Brandon Fisher joined the FBI Behavioral Analysis Unit, he knew he’d come up against psychopaths, sociopaths, pathological liars, and more. But when his first case takes him and the team to Salt Lick, Kentucky, to hunt down a ritualistic serial killer, he learns what nightmares are truly made of.

Beneath a residential property, local law enforcement discovered an underground bunker with circular graves that house the remains of ten victims. But that’s not all: there’s an empty eleventh grave, just waiting for a corpse. The killing clearly hasn’t come to an end yet, and with the property owner already behind bars, Brandon is certain there’s an apprentice who roams free.

As the FBI follows the evidence across the United States, Brandon starts to struggle with the deranged nature of his job description. And if the case itself isn’t going to be enough to push Brandon over the edge, he’s working in the shadow of Supervisory Special Agent Jack Harper, who expects nothing short of perfection from his team. To make matters even worse, it seems Brandon has become the target of a psychotic serial killer who wants to make him—or his wife—victim number eleven.

Also by this author: , The Little Grave

Eleven by Carolyn Arnold is the first installment in the Brandon Fisher FBI series. Brandon is a new agent, still in his probationary period, when his team is called in on a grisly discovery. As the agents delve deeper into the case, things get personal.

I liked the author’s writing style. If I’m reading and I have to stop, I always try to get to the end of a chapter before stopping. However, with Eleven, it felt like the end of each chapter was a tiny cliffhanger and I needed to keep reading on. The novel felt realistic to me. It reminded me of watching episodes of some of my favorite television shows. The characters felt well-developed, and there were lots of interpersonal issues going on along with the story.

One of the things I liked was that the characters, even the ‘good guys’, weren’t all good. Brandon has faults and they’re laid out there for you to see. Even with his issues, though, I still liked him and I wanted him to do well at his job and get the real ‘bad’ guy.

I definitely enjoyed the book. I picked it up for free on Amazon and I am glad I did. I am looking forward to reading more Brandon Fisher FBI stories.

About Carolyn Arnold

Carolyn Arnold was born in a small Canadian town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower. As an internationally bestselling and award-winning author, she has several continuing fiction series, including her popular Detective Madison Knight series. She offers readers nearly three dozen published books in genres ranging from crime thrillers and hard-boiled mysteries to cozy mysteries and action adventures. She currently lives north of London, Ontario, with her husband and two beagles.

Rating Report
Overall: four-stars


1 comment / Add your comment below

  1. I just finished the newest book in this series, Remnants, and really enjoyed it. I went and checked my Kindle and have this one. I can’t wait to start from the beginning!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.