A Fatal Collection by Mary Ellen Hughes

A Fatal Collection by Mary Ellen Hughes

This post contains affiliate links. If you make a purchase using my links, I will receive a small commission from the sale at no cost to you. Thank you for supporting Brooke Blogs!

I received this book for free from a book tour. This review is voluntary. My opinion is not influenced in any way.

A Fatal Collection by Mary Ellen HughesA Fatal Collection by Mary Ellen Hughes
Series: Keepsake Cove Mystery #1
Published by Midnight Ink on November 8, 2017
Genres: Cozy Mystery
Pages: 264
Format: eARC
Source: a book tour
Buy on AmazonBuy on Barnes & NobleBuy on Kobo

Callie Reed pays a long overdue visit to her aunt, Melodie, at her fairy-tale cottage in quaint Keepsake Cove, which is home to a bevy of collectible shops on Maryland’s Eastern Shore. Just as they’re beginning to reconnect, Callie discovers her aunt’s body on the floor of the music box shop she owns. Grief-stricken, Callie finds she can’t accept Melodie’s death being ruled accidental. How could her strong and healthy aunt take such a fatal fall? And why was she in the shop in the middle of the night?

As Callie searches for the truth, signs seem to come from her late aunt through a favorite music box, urging Callie on. Or are they warnings? If Callie isn’t careful, she could meet a similar deadly fate amid Melodie’s collection.

Also by this author: A Vintage Death,

My Thoughts

A Fatal Collection by Mary Ellen Hughes is the first book in the Keepsake Cove mystery series. One of my favorite things about this story was the unique shop that Callie inherits. Music boxes are so fun and beautiful, and I really enjoyed reading about them! I loved Keepsake Cove and all the fun little shops nestled together. This was a fast read. I found myself sitting down to read just a few pages, and realizing I’d spent more time in Keepsake Cove than planned. I was sad to have to say goodbye to Aunt Mel, but really loved Callie. This is an excellent start to a series, and I am already looking forward to more in this series.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Mary Ellen Hughes

Mary Ellen Hughes is the bestselling author of the Pickled and Preserved Mysteries (Penguin), the Craft Corner Mysteries, and the Maggie Olenski Mysteries, along with several short stories. A Fatal Collection is her debut with Midnight Ink. A Wisconsin native, she has lived most of her adult life in Maryland, where she’s set many of her stories.

Rating Report
Overall: five-stars


Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the post above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will add value to my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

4 comments / Add your comment below

  1. I need to add this book to my TBR list — it sounds like a great read. Thanks, Brooke, for featuring it on your blog!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.