Dec 11 2017
2

Presidents’ Day by Seth Margolis

Posted by Brooke in Book Tour / 2 Comments

This post contains affiliate links. If you make a purchase using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale at no cost to you. Thank you for supporting Brooke Blogs!

I received this book for free from a book tour. This review is voluntary. My opinion is not influenced in any way.

Source: a book tour

Presidents’ Day by Seth Margolis

For readers of David Baldacci and Brad Meltzer comes a timely political thriller from the bestselling author of Losing Isaiah.

In this twisting, ferocious novel of suspense, the presidential race has a number of men all clawing to get to the top. Each man has a locked closet of secrets. And one man holds every key.
Julian Mellow has spent his life amassing a fortune out of low-risk / high-reward investments. But the one time in his life he got in over his head, he left another man holding the bag, and made an enemy for life, one who has nothing to lose. Now, Mellow has an even greater ambition–to select the next President of the United States–and to make that man do his bidding, in business and beyond.

It all ties to an African nation where his son died years before, where a brutal dictator still rules supreme, and where a resistance movement lurks in the alleys, waiting for the right time to strike. Margolis spans the globe to weave together a brilliant story of politics at its most venal, where murder is a part of the political process, where anyone’s life is up for sale, and where one man–that bad penny of an enemy–could bring the whole kingdom toppling.

As the new President is inaugurated, Seth Margolis has penned a perfect thriller for the voting public, one that asks who really puts the next person in the White House? And at what cost?

Goodreads | Amazon | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble

My Thoughts

Presidents’ Day by Seth Margolis is an action-packed political thriller that is as tangled as today’s politics. This book took me a little while to get interested in, and it may have been because there was so much going on. I didn’t know where any of the threads of the story were going, though they slowly came together. I don’t typically read political thrillers so that could be why I wasn’t immediately sucked in. However, I did want to know how the book would end, so the author grabbed my attention that much.

The cast of characters was incredibly interesting. It was exciting to see behind the scenes and what can happen when a position of power can be manipulated by those with money. I liked that this book seemed like it could totally happen in today’s world. If you are a fan of political thrillers, you will definitely enjoy Presidents’ Day.

Overall, I would rate this book 3.25 stars. The plot was interesting and the twisted characters kept the story going.

About the Author

Seth Margolis lives with his wife in New York City and has two grown children. He received a BA in English from the University of Rochester and an MBA in marketing from New York University’s Stern School of Business Administration. When not writing fiction, he is a branding consultant for a wide range of companies, primarily in the financial services, technology and pharmaceutical industries. He has written articles for the New York Times and other publications on travel and entertainment.

Author Links
Website
Facebook
Twitter

1,086 total views, 2 views today

2 Responses to “Presidents’ Day by Seth Margolis”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.