Posts Tagged: TLC Book Tours

Dec 11 2017
2

Presidents’ Day by Seth Margolis

Presidents’ Day by Seth Margolis

Presidents’ Day by Seth Margolis

For readers of David Baldacci and Brad Meltzer comes a timely political thriller from the bestselling author of Losing Isaiah.

In this twisting, ferocious novel of suspense, the presidential race has a number of men all clawing to get to the top. Each man has a locked closet of secrets. And one man holds every key.
Julian Mellow has spent his life amassing a fortune out of low-risk / high-reward investments. But the one time in his life he got in over his head, he left another man holding the bag, and made an enemy for life, one who has nothing to lose. Now, Mellow has an even greater ambition–to select the next President of the United …

1,084 total views, no views today

Apr 25 2015
4

Officer Elvis by Gary Gusick – Review @GaryGusick

Officer Elvis by Gary Gusick – Review @GaryGusick

Officer Elvis by Gary Gusick
Darla Cavannah Mysteries #2

In the vein of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner, Gary Gusick takes readers on an explosive ride-along with Mississippi detective Darla Cavannah, a Yankee transplant making her name in the Deep South.

After performing at a local old-folks home, off-duty police officer and part-time Elvis impersonator Tommy Reylander smoothes out his pompadour, climbs into his pink Caddy, and gets all shook up—fatally so, when a bomb explodes. Whether he was killed for his police work or bad singing is a mystery that detective Darla Cavannah is determined to solve.

Though it’s been several years since Darla (reluctantly) partnered up with Tommy, she convinces her boss to let her lead the murder investigation. As the …

285 total views, 1 views today

Mar 30 2015
1

Shady Cross by James Hankins – Review @James_Hankins_

Shady Cross by James Hankins – Review @James_Hankins_

Shady Cross by James Hankins is a suspenseful thriller that kept me turning the pages and wanting to see how it would play out. Stokes is an unlikely hero – a man with a checkered past who pulls off small con jobs to make his living. After one such job, he is heading home when he gets in an accident. He discovers a backpack full of cash along with a cell phone. When the phone rings, there is a scared little girl on the other end, asking if her Daddy is coming to get her.

Stokes is not a good guy. Even so, he struggles with what to do. He really wants to keep the money and skip …

334 total views, no views today

Mar 25 2015
2

The Kill Shot by Nichole Christoff – Review + Giveaway

The Kill Shot by Nichole Christoff – Review + Giveaway

My Thoughts

The Kill Shot by Nichole Christoff is the second book in the Jamie Sinclair novels. Jamie is a security specialist/private investigator and her father needs her help. What follows is an interesting story of international intrigue. I liked getting to follow Jamie to different locales as she tries to solve the crime.

Jamie is not the brightest character, but I think it helps her appear more human. She isn’t perfect, she’s not super intelligent or gorgeous or anything like that. She is just a normal girl, who works hard to do her job.

This book was exciting with action, crime, mystery, spies and world traveling. I enjoyed reading this and I think this will be a series that …

222 total views, no views today

Dec 08 2014
1

The Red Book of Primrose House by Marty Wingate – Review

The Red Book of Primrose House by Marty Wingate – Review

The Red Book of Primrose House by Marty Wingate
A Potting Shed Mystery Book 2

In Marty Wingate’s charming new Potting Shed Mystery, Texas transplant Pru Parke’s restoration of a historic landscape in England is uprooted by an ax murderer.

Pru Parke has her dream job: head gardener at an eighteenth-century manor house in Sussex. The landscape for Primrose House was laid out in 1806 by renowned designer Humphry Repton in one of his meticulously illustrated Red Books, and the new owners want Pru to restore the estate to its former glory—quickly, as they’re planning to showcase it in less than a year at a summer party.

But life gets in the way of the best laid plans: When not being happily distracted by …

191 total views, no views today

Nov 21 2014
4

My Sister's Grave by Robert Dugoni – Review @robertdugoni

My Sister's Grave by Robert Dugoni – Review @robertdugoni

My Thoughts

My Sister’s Grave by Robert Dugoni can be summed up in one (possibly made up) words: unputdownable. Yes. Really. I could not stop reading this one from the moment I started. The story is expertly crafted and you’re trying to guess what’s going to happen but you can’t. This is a murder mystery story with enticing characters. Tracy’s sister went missing years ago, and, though someone has been convicted of murdering her (even without a body), Tracy has always thought this person was framed. She became a detective and is astonished when her sister’s grave is uncovered. She enlists the help of her childhood friend and attorney Dan to try to get to the bottom of …

243 total views, no views today

Nov 17 2014
3

Mrs. Kaplan and the Matzoh Ball of Death by Mark Reutlinger – Review + Giveaway

Mrs. Kaplan and the Matzoh Ball of Death by Mark Reutlinger – Review + Giveaway

My Thoughts

I wasn’t sure what to think when I first started reading Mrs. Kaplan and the Matzoh Ball of Death by Mark Reutlinger. The story is set in a Jewish senior living community. While the mystery plot was interesting, and I liked the characters of Ida and Rose, I felt like I couldn’t really get into the story as much as I wanted. I’m not sure if this is because of the constant use of Jewish terms/slang/phrases that I had no idea what they meant, or the somewhat repetitive way that Ida told the story. I think I might have liked it more if Rose would have been telling her own story. I teetered between giving this …

271 total views, no views today

Sep 25 2014
3

Becoming Josephine by Heather Webb – Review

Becoming Josephine by Heather Webb – Review

Becoming Josephine by Heather Webb is a fascinating historical read. I could not put it down. I found myself at work, thinking of it and wishing I was reading it. It stuck with me throughout the day and I fell asleep reading it. I loved the story that Heather has written. All the elements came together perfectly. The characters are beautifully and intricately developed. The settings were marvelous and I truly felt transported reading Becoming Josephine by Heather Webb. The plot was full of action and never let up. I would give this ten stars if I could. This is one of those stories that I wish I could forget simply so I could have the pleasure of reading it …

293 total views, no views today

Aug 20 2014
2

Inamorata by Megan Chance – Book Review

Inamorata by Megan Chance – Book Review

Inamorata by Megan Chance

American artist Joseph Hannigan and his alluring sister, Sophie, have arrived in enchanting nineteenth-century Venice with a single-minded goal. The twins, who have fled scandal in New York, are determined to break into Venice’s expatriate set and find a wealthy patron to support Joseph’s work.

But the enigmatic Hannigans are not the only ones with a secret agenda. Joseph’s talent soon attracts the attention of the magnificent Odilé Leon, a celebrated courtesan and muse who has inspired many artists to greatness. But her inspiration comes with a devastatingly steep price.

As Joseph falls under the courtesan’s spell, Sophie joins forces with Nicholas Dane, the one man who knows Odilé’s dark secret, and her sworn enemy. When the seductive …

238 total views, no views today