Apr 23 2016
13

When It Rained at Hembry Castle by Meredith Allard – Guest Post + Giveaway @hfvbt @copperfield101 #WhenItRainedAtHembryCastleBlogTour #HistoricalFiction

Posted by Brooke in Book Giveaway, Book Tour, Giveaways, Guest Post, Uncategorized / 13 Comments

02_When It Rained at Hembry CastleWhen It Rained at Hembry Castle (The Hembry Castle Chronicles, Book 1)
by Meredith Allard

Publication Date: January 28, 2016
Copperfield Press
Paperback & eBook; 465 Pages

Series: The Hembry Castle Chronicles
Genre: Historical Fiction/Literary

Add to GR Button

 

 

From Meredith Allard, author of the bestselling Loving Husband Trilogy, comes When It Rained at Hembry Castle, a lush historical novel set in Victorian England. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it’s the story of an aristocratic family, a mysterious death, secrets that dare not be told, and the wonder of falling in love.

When the 8th Earl of Staton dies, his eldest son, the unreliable Richard, inherits the title and the family’s home—Hembry Castle. The Earl’s niece, the American-born Daphne, is intrigued by Edward Ellis, a rising author with a first-hand knowledge of Hembry Castle—from the servants’ hall. And Edward, though captivated by the lovely Daphne, has his own hurdles he must overcome. Can Richard come to terms with his title before bringing ruin on his family? Will Edward and Daphne find their way to each other despite the obstacles of life at Hembry Castle?

When It Rained at Hembry Castle is a page-turning, romantic novel with vivid characters and an engrossing story that will keep you guessing until the end.

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Barnes & Noble | iTunes | Kobo

guestpost

Thoughts About When It Rained at Hembry Castle

My novel When It Rained at Hembry Castle was 20 years in the making. Being the Dickens fan I am, in the mid 1990s I came up with an idea for a novel that would be set in Victorian England. While I always loved the concept, it was put on the back burner while I pursued other projects. Finally, in 2014, my other projects completed, I was able to focus my attention on this idea I had been kicking around for nearly two decades.

A funny thing happened in 2013—I discovered Downton Abbey. Yes, I was three years late to the Downton Abbey party, but better late than never. When I realized I would finally have time to pursue this Victorian novel I’d wanted to write, I knew I had to incorporate aspects of this TV show I had grown to love. While this is not fan fiction in the literal sense, it is a fan fiction of sorts since When It Rained at Hembry Castle would not have evolved into the novel it has without my love for Downton Abbey.

I had a discussion with a fellow author about the book the writers think they’re writing versus the book the readers read. Think of it this way—when we’re writing a story, we know what we intend to do, why the pieces of the puzzle are set out the way they are, why this character says one thing when she means another. But when readers read, they’re not in our heads, they’re in their heads. Which is just as well. My head is crowded enough with only me in there. Readers have their own experiences, their own likes and dislikes, their own tastes. In the end, it doesn’t matter what I intended to do when I was crafting the story. It only matters what the readers bring when they engage with the story.

Here’s a case in point, and one close to my heart because it involves Hembry Castle. When I began writing Hembry in 2014, I had just come off some success with the Loving Husband Trilogy and I thought Hembry would be a great way to go back to writing a love story that readers would cheer for. Edward Ellis and Daphne Meriwether were always the focus for me as I was writing the novel. Yes, Daphne has a crazy family (don’t we all) in this Downton Abbey-like world, but all along I saw When It Rained at Hembry Castle as a great love story.

Yet readers who emailed me about Hembry weren’t gushing over Edward and Daphne. They were asking about Richard, Daphne’s uncle, the 9th Earl of Staton. In the reader’s mind (at least those who contacted me), Richard was the center of curiosity. He is the Earl of Staton, after all. But I was fascinated by their questions about Richard when to me Edward and Daphne are the stars of the show. Is it wrong for readers to focus on Richard? Of course not. But realizing that readers were not necessarily reading the book I had written was a huge revelation to me and a continuing fascination for me.

Have you ever read a book where you had a different reaction than you expected?


About the Author03_Meredith Allard

Meredith Allard is the author of the bestselling novels The Loving Husband Trilogy, That You Are Here, Victory Garden, Woman of Stones, and My Brother’s Battle. Her newest release, the historical novel When It Rained at Hembry Castle, is a great read for fans of Downton Abbey.

Visit Meredith online at www.meredithallard.com. You can also connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Pinterest, and Goodreads.

Blog Tour Schedule

Thursday, April 14
Interview at Books and Benches
Giveaway at Passages to the Past

Friday, April 15
Excerpt at The Lit Bitch
Interview at The Book Connection

Monday, April 18
Review at Book Nerd

Tuesday, April 19
Review at History From a Woman’s Perspective
Excerpt & Giveaway at CelticLady’s Review

Wednesday, April 20
Review & Giveaway at A Holland Reads

Friday, April 22
Excerpt at Historical Fiction Addicts

Saturday, April 23
Guest Post & Giveaway at Brooke Blogs

Sunday, April 24
Review at One Book Shy of a Full Shelf

Monday, April 25
Review at Luxury Reading
Review at To Read, Or Not to Read
Excerpt & Giveaway at A Literary Vacation

04_WIRAHC_Blog Tour Banner_FINAL

bookgiveaway
Thanks to the generosity of the author, I have a great giveaway for you! One lucky winner will receive a copy of When It Rained at Hembry Castle by Meredith Allard. If a US winner is selected, they can choose a paperback copy or an ebook copy. An international winner would receive an ebook copy. Enter below for your chance to win.

Brooke Blogs is not responsible for prize fulfillment in this giveaway. Giveaway ends 5/2/16 & winner will be randomly selected from all eligible entries. Winner will be emailed and will have 48 hours to respond to notification email before a new winner is selected. Void where prohibited. Please see giveaway tools widget for complete rules.

Good luck!

 2,273 total views,  2 views today

13 Responses to “When It Rained at Hembry Castle by Meredith Allard – Guest Post + Giveaway @hfvbt @copperfield101 #WhenItRainedAtHembryCastleBlogTour #HistoricalFiction”

  1. diannekc

    I want to read “When it Rained at Hembry Castle” because I enjoy reading historical fiction/mysteries and this one sounds really great. Thanks for the giveaway.

  2. Meredith Allard

    Thank you for hosting the giveaway, and thanks to all of you for your great comments! I had a lot of fun writing Hembry Castle, and I hope readers enjoy the story.

  3. Anne

    This historical, the era, the characters, the locale all are why I would enjoy this novel which sounds captivating and unforgettable.

  4. Kathy Davis

    My favorite genre is historical romance, and this sounds very interesting.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.