Stolen Daughters by Carolyn Arnold

This post contains affiliate links. If you make a purchase using my links, I will receive a small commission from the sale at no cost to you. Thank you for supporting Brooke Blogs!

I received this book for free from NetGalley. This review is voluntary. My opinion is not influenced in any way.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, language, and/or violence.
Stolen Daughters by Carolyn ArnoldStolen Daughters by Carolyn Arnold
Series: Detective Amanda Steele #2
Also in this series: The Little Grave
Published by Bookouture on April 6, 2021
Genres: Mystery, Thriller
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Buy on AmazonBuy on Barnes & NobleBuy on iBooksBuy on KoboBuy on Google Play
Goodreads
five-stars

The girl looked so peaceful, she could have been asleep. Except her eyes were open, blankly reflecting the flickering flames spreading towards her…

When firefighters discover the body of a teenage girl at an abandoned house, Detective Amanda Steele hurries to the scene. Dumfries, Virginia is a small town, yet no one seems to have any idea who the dead girl is until Amanda finds a dragonfly pin with the name Crystal engraved on it.

Working tirelessly, Amanda traces the pin to Crystal Foster, a thirteen-year-old who disappeared three years ago from her wealthy parents’ home. Breaking the news to the distraught parents won’t be easy, but the loss of her own daughter still haunts Amanda, and she knows this will bring them closure. But when Amanda goes to see the Fosters, they do not recognize the girl. She isn’t Crystal.

Before Amanda can react to this new development, she gets an urgent call. A fire has consumed another vacant house, and the remains of two more girls have been found. Who are these girls, and why are they being picked off? Amanda must stop this killer before the pattern continues, and the death toll climbs.

When Amanda receives a taunting note from the killer, she realizes that she holds the missing piece of this puzzle. The victims are connected to Amanda’s past, to a case she can never forget, and which almost claimed her life. As she follows the clues to their deadly conclusion, can she save more innocent lives… even if it risks her own?

An unputdownable, pulse-pounding mystery. Fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Robert Dugoni will be gripped.

Also by this author: Eleven,

My Thoughts

Stolen Daughters by Carolyn Arnold is the second book in the Detective Amanda Steele mystery series. I loved the first book and was definitely looking forward to reading this one. Ms. Arnold did not disappoint! This book was full of action and suspense. Stolen Daughters feels like an episode of Criminal Minds. Once I started reading, I didn’t want to put it down. If you love crime shows and suspenseful stories that keep you guessing until the end, you need to read Stolen Daughters.

I’ve read and enjoyed many books by Ms. Arnold – she has a knack for writing books that draw the reader in right away and don’t let go until the conclusion. I’m happy to have another series I enjoy and can’t wait for more Detective Amanda Steele.


About Carolyn Arnold

Carolyn Arnold

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international bestselling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures.

Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives just west of Toronto with her husband and beagle and is a member of Crime Writers of Canada and Sisters in Crime.

Rating Report
Plot
five-stars
Characters
five-stars
Writing
five-stars
Pacing
five-stars
Cover
five-stars
Overall: five-stars

 392 total views,  6 views today

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.